Hiroshi yokoyama

piano recital

"Feel John Cage!"


March 27th at the Toyosu Civic Center Hall


"Non-availability of something or non-availability of nothing."



  • John Cage: In a Landscape (1948)
  • Morton Feldman: Two Intermissions (1950)
  • Phillip Glass: The Hours (2002)
  • Morton Feldman: Intermission 6 (1953)


  • Ryuichi Sakamoto:Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence (1983)
  • John Cage: 4'33’’ (1952)
  • John Cage: 0'00’’ (1962)
  • Morton Feldman: Palais de Mari (1986) [25:00] 



Migrating through the sonority of consonance,

the keyboardist Hiroshi Yokoyama reveals Morton Feldman's

last piano work

Joe Onishi


The sound fades away. Just like a tower on the sand, they are ephemeral and disappear completely after they are emitted. But through sound, we can detect the eternity outside.

Known as one of the masters of American experimentalism, Morton Feldman (1926-1987) composes the world of consonant sounds on a grand scale, and with the imperfect symmetry, it has the unique meditative quality. Hiroshi Yokoyama, an expert of early music, and a keyboardist with an exquisite sense of tone, tempo, and volume control, will play Feldman's last and enigmatic piano work named after the imperfect symmetry of Palais de Mari of Tell Hariri.

After modern consonant sonorities of Cage, Glass, and Sakamoto's works, and after 4 minutes and 33 seconds of silence, I am wondering what kind of eternity that we could “see”?

Backside of the Flyer